Problem in query with SqlServer

Hi, I’m testing and interfacing my application desktop with SqlServer
(OS Windows 10, Xojo 2019 r3.1)
Already during the insertion I have some problems: if I try to insert an empty string, in reality some “strange characters” are inserted in the table. I solved this by turning the empty string into a space, right before doing ps.Bind
(very tedious and expensive solution).
But the thing that’s most troubling me is an error I get during a SELECT query. The error is as follows:

9005: Error retrieving large column values due to a bug in the SQL Native Client

Any indication? thank you

Hi Ant,

I have no experience with this myself, but I did find an entry in this forum that might help.

Take a look at this link. Good luck!

what field type u used in ms sql database table for this string?

@Ant_Col Do use MonkeyBread’s SQL plugin with an ODBC connection. This just works. To be fair, we did all the research on the different connection issues quite a few years ago so some might be fixed, but we’ve been using Monkeybread/ODBC combination every since.

Another recommendation is to do all the SQL in stored procedures and just execute the stored procedure from Xojo. Created classes to connect to the database and to call the stored procedures with the parameters you specify. This allows you to globally set how the connection is made, set error traps and transactions around the call to the stored procedure, and to check for dodgy characters that need escaping in the parameters without having to do it every time in your code.
E.g.

' Open a connection to the SQL Database
Dim db As SQLDatabase = App.Outline.GetDatabase
Dim sp As New SQLStoredProcedure (db, "CCGetAuditDescription")
Dim rs As RecordSet

' Setup the parameters
sp.AddParameter("@AuditId", AuditId) 
sp.AddParameter("@EventType", EventType)

' Run the Stored procedure. This version returns a recordset
rs = sp.ExecuteRecordSet

' This just executes the stored procedure