I noticed today that after removing a great deal of objects, code and resources (images…) from my project the built application on my Mac was not any smaller.
Being the curious type I deleted the previous build, which I had always assumed was completely overwritten when building, to see if there was a change.
After the second build the built APP had shrunk by about 6mb.
It seems that on Mac at least, the build process does not completely remove everything from a previous build. I found resources left over which had be deleted from the current version.