Picture Desktop vs Web

Hi all,

I’ve got a small Class that takes a JSON String of points of a shape (from Adobe Illustrator) and generates a Picture from it…

I’ve been using this for a while in a Desktop app. Now I have a need to use this in a web app - but it doesn’t work.

It compiles, no errors.

However, when I step through the code to the bit where the GraphicsPath is filled on the Picture - nothing happens, inspecting the picture in the IDE and it’s blank.

Is there some restriction on what you can use in a web app when it comes to Pictures / GraphicsPath etc? As I said, it compiles OK, so you’d expect it to work.

I’ve also checked that the code previous to this that parses the JSON array is retrieving its values correctly, it is.

Strangeness?

Help please! Cheers, Dave.

I’m not a Web expert but I know that console graphics is considerably different than desktop graphics. You might have to use something like ImageMagic from MBS to get it to work properly in console/web apps.

Desktop picture is different to WebPicture. See how to convert to the later:
https://docs.xojo.com/WebPicture

I’ll take a look at that Bob. Cheers

Yes, aware of that Michel. I’m doing everything in a picture, then, finally, converting to a WebPicture. My problem seems to be that

picture.Graphics.FillPath thePath
and
picture.Graphics.DrawPath thePath

… in a web app, doesn’t actually do anything – was wondering if anyone could confirm that this is the case / has anyone had a similar experience?

Have you tried to display the webpicture in an Imageview, to verify the picture is valid ?

No Michel, I’m inspecting the picture in the IDE, stepping through the code line by line… the picture ends up with no content. But for info, yes, I’ve converted the empty picture to a webPicture and got an empty webPicture. Sorry.

Is it the same code as your desktop app ?

100% the same. Compiles OK, no errors.

Here’s the code:

thePath = New GraphicsPath // <- class property