Paul Lefebvre's Database Tutorial

I’m following Brad Rhine and Paul Lefebvre’s tutorial on Databases from their book “Introduction to Xojo Programming.” Although I’m not new to Xojo, I’ve never worked with Databases before and I’m at an impasse. When I run the project, I’m getting a “Database Exception” and “rs” is coming up as Nil. The code was copied and pasted directly from their book. I’m also including a screenshot of the debugger if that will help. Any assistance is greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Var sql As String  
Var rs As RowSet  
sql = "SELECT name, email"  
sql = sql + "FROM addressbook"  
If search.Text <> "" Then  
  sql = sql + "WHERE LOWER(name) LIKE LOWER('%" +  _  
  SQLify(search.Text) +"%') "  
  sql = sql + "OR LOWER(email) LIKE LOWER('%" +  _  
  SQLify(search.Text) +"%')"  
End If  
sql = sql + "ORDER BY name"  
Try
  rs = MyDatabase.SelectSQL(sql)  
  AddressBox.RemoveAllRows  
  While Not rs.AfterLastRow  
    AddressBox.AddRow(rs.Column("name").StringValue)  
    AddressBox.CellValueAt(AddressBox.LastAddedRowIndex, 1) =  _  
    rs.Column("email").StringValue  
    rs.MoveToNextRow  
  Wend  
Catch error As DatabaseException  
  MessageBox(error.Message) 
End Try

Hi where is the blank after email before FROM see debugger …also in Order …

1 Like

Spaces are important and you’re missing some. For example there is no space between email & FROM.

Var rs As RowSet  
sql = "SELECT name, email"  
sql = sql + " FROM addressbook"  
If search.Text <> "" Then  
  sql = sql + " WHERE LOWER(name) LIKE LOWER('%" +  _  
  SQLify(search.Text) +"%') "  
  sql = sql + " OR LOWER(email) LIKE LOWER('%" +  _  
  SQLify(search.Text) +"%')"  
End If  
sql = sql + " ORDER BY name"  
Try
  rs = MyDatabase.SelectSQL(sql)  
  AddressBox.RemoveAllRows  
  While Not rs.AfterLastRow  
    AddressBox.AddRow(rs.Column("name").StringValue)  
    AddressBox.CellValueAt(AddressBox.LastAddedRowIndex, 1) =  _  
    rs.Column("email").StringValue  
    rs.MoveToNextRow