[OpenGL] What's your Macbook OpenGL Version ?

Hello,

Just a little survey here, as, sadly, OpenGL on Mac OS is always behind Windows/Linux.

I have a Macbook Pro bought last year. My OpenGL version is 2.1.

I wonder what is your OpenGL version if you have a Macbook up to, say, 5 years old ?

What is the OpenGL version of this year (the last one) Macbook Pro ?

What about Macbook Air ?

In short, what is your Macbook Pro/Air year and OpenGL version ?

Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Cheers,
Guy.

One of the rare situations where Apple documentation is excellent:

https://developer.apple.com/graphicsimaging/opengl/capabilities/

Thanks for the link, Michael,

I was aware of this chart but it seems the reality is far away from it, unless I’m missing something (I’m no Mac expert).

As an example, I have a Macbook Pro with a NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M and with OS X 10.9.2.

According to this chart, it should support OpenGL v4.1. But when I query the card through OpenGL I get version 2.1 (and shading language version 1.20) which is far below 4.1 (and shading language version 4.10).

That’s why I’m asking people directly to check on their own Macbook, just to have the ‘real’ supported OpenGL version.

Cheers,
Guy.

That table has two sections, “Core” and “Legacy” https://developer.apple.com/graphicsimaging/opengl/capabilities/GLInfo_1090.html
I’m not sure of the difference, but under Legacy the version is indicated as 2.1, which seems correct.

Ahh, see here: https://developer.apple.com/library/mac/documentation/graphicsimaging/conceptual/opengl-macprogguide/opengl_pixelformats/opengl_pixelformats.html

Apparently your app can request which feature set (legacy vs. core) it’s run under.

Ah yes, I was not aware of the Legacy chart.

That explains my results indeed.

Thanks a lot Michael.

Cheers,
Guy.

Any ideas how to make the request?