Observer pattern on class properties?

Hi all,

I’m just getting started with Xojo, but I love it so far! Please forgive me if this is a basic question. I’m trying to implement the Observer pattern described here: Design Patterns in Xojo: Observer, Part II – Xojo Programming Blog. I understand it, and have implemented the classes mentioned on the article in my project, and it works when I bind controls to text labels. However, I am trying to modify the code to work on a custom class and UI controls. I have a custom class called “Device” with various computed properties of different types: BacklightSetting (String), BatteryLevel (Integer), ProgrammingEnabled (Boolean), etc. I have a bunch of labels in a window that I would like to update if code updates any of the properties in a Device object.

My plan was to call sendNotification from all the Setters, like so:

dim myNotificationCenter as NotificationCenter = NotificationCenter.sharedInstance
mynotificationcenter.sendNotification(me,"valueChanged",me.BacklightSetting)

and then the BacklightSettingLabel’s newValueReceived event would have:

me.Text = Device(value).BacklightSetting

and so on. I modified the example on the article so that the register and sendNotification methods of the NotificationCenter class has objects being passed as objects, rather than RectControls. This works if my properties are any class types, but since some of them are normal datatypes, I get errors like so when registering the properties with the NoticiationCenter object:

dim miNotificationCenter as NotificationCenter = NotificationCenter.sharedInstance
//sourceControl(NotificationReceiver, observedObject as RectControl, message as text)
miNotificationCenter.register(BacklightLabel,app.CurrentDevice.BacklightSetting, "valueChanged"

Error: Type mismatch error.  Expected Object, but got String