Object-containing canvas with controls of multiple classes

I have adapted an object container canvas sample application to my needs. I want to be able to drag, scale, click on, etc…different kinds of objects. Objects will be of many different classes, but all subclasses of Canvas. Each will know how to draw itself into the containing canvas, and accept mouse events.

The problem I have, is how to declare these contained controls at the container level. I imagined it would be Variant. I might have ObjectAControl and ObjectBControl… and assign one or the other to the Variant. That part works. But when I go to call the methods of the Variant …that doesn’t seem to work.

If for instance each of my object types were subclasses of the same super class (that was subclassed from Canvas)…could I then declare each object as the superclass, then call whatever superclass methods were available?

I’m sure this is easy but I am a newbie and don’t know the correct syntax, trial-and-error is frustrating, and I don’t know what to search for in the documentation.

If the objects are to be drawn on a Canvas, then those objects do not need to be Canvases themselves. They can just be classes that the main Canvas draws onto itself.

Xojo includes a couple examples of this technique:

• Examples/CanvasDrawDrag
  • Examples/ObjectsInCanvas

If you want to have different classes to handle different things, you can make them all be subclasses of a common parent or you could have an interface that they all implement.

You might also find the Retro Gaming webinar (and its companion project) helpful as it also does this sort of thing to draw the game objects.

Thanks Paul for your reply.

The ObjectsInCanvas project was my starting point.