New Xojo YouTube Tutorial Series

Ever since my young daughter started showing an interest in learning how to code I’ve been thinking that I really should knuckle down and create an actual tutorial series to teach people how to program. Whilst there are plenty of courses, articles and videos out there on this very topic, there aren’t really any using Xojo as the tool so I’ve decided to make my own. I’ve been using Xojo for over 15 years so I think I know what I’m doing…

Here’s the introduction to the series (beware it’s a close up of my face for 5 minutes!) and here’s the first in the series (a super brief walkthrough of the IDE).

If there’s interest I plan on continuing. I already have a rough outline for the first dozen or so videos but I welcome feedback.

19 Likes

what did u to do this YouTube?? wonder how you get tone in the corner of the video?

Xojo learning material is always welcomed. Thanks for the effort.

2 Likes

Definitely interested at this end - I have two younger children that have expressed an interest in learning how to code (my eldest is already at University studying C.S). Thanks for doing this Garry.

2 Likes

What do you mean? Do you mean why did I choose YouTube as the platform? If that’s the case it’s because the available audience is so large and there is no fee to get started.

I use an app called ScreenFlow for macOS to record my screen and webcam. I use a green screen and a chroma filter to remove the background behind me on the webcam and then merge the two video tracks.

1 Like

Sorry about my post… i was wonder how you get into the video on the left hand corner. So i assume screenflow has this feature

Subscribed Gary! Always looking for more xojo content for beginners.

1 Like

ScreenFlow let’s you record more than one video source. You can also import multiple video tracks. I just resize the webcam track to be small and plonk it in the bottom left corner. It’s really easy to do.