MySQL - load data local infile?

I’m getting an error whenever I try to execute the MySQL “load data local infile” command in Xojo to import a file of csv data. The same command works when used in Sequel Pro or Workbench. The error I get is: The used command is not allowed with this MySQL version.

Well it is allowed because I’m using it.

I understand it may be a my.conf issue as well as a security issue.

If someone can share some experience with this I would appreciate it. I know there’s other ways to read the data in.

Thanks.

This issue has come up again. Why can’t I run the “load data local infile” from Xojo but can run it from MySQL Workbench and SQL Pro on the same local OS X machine?

I’m connecting to an Amazon MySQL instance.

Anyone with any experience on this?

Is the “local-infile” directive set in my.cnf?

I am a newbie to AWS RDS as well and their docs are hard to follow. So I don’t know. Looking at that now. Just think that if it wasn’t then I would not be able to run the command in Workbench or Sequel Pro. Puzzling.

You have a point. LOCAL-INFILE needs to be enabled on BOTH sides of the connection in order for it to work since it is a security concern. My guess is that it is not enabled by default in the Xojo plugin for mySQL.

Maybe someone from Xojo will chime in and clarify the use of client configuration options beside the basic host, port, etc…?

With the mysql command line client you can put a file in your home directory “~/.my.cnf” and put options in a “[client]” section. You could give that a try and see if the plugin reads it.

It does appear to be enabled in AWS RDS. The value of the parameter is “1”. The other option is “0”.

Tried creating the .my.conf file. No joy. I’m just fishing around on this so I’ll wait and see what someone else may say. I assume I’m not the first person to try this. Thanks.

I’m sure you know, but if you can put the file on the server and load it from there you can bypass the “local” part.