MySQL Display Row Data Into Text Field

Hey, how are you guys doing? I am sending you all a message because for some reason I cannot get my code to display from MySQL database row to a text field or areabox and not to sure what I am doing wrong? Thanks for taking the time to look at this for me and to help me out thanks so much. I am new to Xojo and programming just trying to learn this thanks.

Var db As New MySQLCommunityServer
Var sql As RowSet

db.Host = “127.0.0.1”
db.Port = 3306
db.UserName = “codeman”
db.Password = “cliverriver”
db.DatabaseName = “gaming_minds”

If db.Connect then
MessageBox “Connected!”
sql = db.SelectSQL(“SELECT news_update FROM news”)
NewsArea.AddText = db.TableColumns(“news_update”)
else
MessageBox (“Cannot Connect!”)
end if

See:

https://documentation.xojo.com/api/databases/database.html#database-tablecolumns

for an example.

When I do this it runs the application now but it doesn’t like the Next Statement because it says NilObjectException not sure why

Var sql As RowSet

db.Host = “127.0.0.1”
db.Port = 3306
db.UserName = “codeman”

Try
MessageBox “Connected!”

Var columns As RowSet = db.TableColumns(“news_update”)

For Each c As DatabaseRow In columns
NewsArea.Text = (c.Column(“news_update”).StringValue)
Next
MessageBox (“Cannot Connect!”)
End Try

you need the databaserow of the sql rowset
for each c as databaserow in sql

Yeah I tried changing it to sql instead of columns but it doesn’t like the next statement not sure what is giving an object cannot be found error because the columns are there, and I also cleaned up my code some and changed some things around, still getting nilobjectexception for Next

Var code As String = “0”
Var sql As RowSet

Try
db.Host = “127.0.0.1”
db.Port = 3306
db.UserName = “codeman”

MessageBox “Connected!”

sql = db.SelectSQL(“SELECT news_update FROM news WHERE ID=?”, code)

For Each c As DatabaseRow In sql
NewsArea.AddText(c.Column(“news_update”).StringValue)
Next
sql.Close
End Try