MySQL Community Server License?

I know you guys aren’t lawyers but I was just curious if anyone here could answer my question. If I want to use the MySQL Community Server in a Xojo program that I intend to sell do I need an enterprise license? I would just be including the MySQL Community Server plugin that came with Xojo in with my libraries so that I can connect remotely to a MySQL database on a web server. Does anyone know the rules on this usage? Thanks!

I am NOT a lawyer.

but from what I understand, if you are using MySQL in a commercial product/offering, you need a commercial/enterprise license for it.

PostgreSQL doesn’t have this issue. It is free for OSS & commercial software.

but DO NOT take my word for this. Speak to a lawyer that specializes in Computer Contracts/EULAs.

I think it comes down to if your program is “dependent” on mysql then the licensing may affect you
MariaDB has the same issues
And its not necessarily YOU that needs to include the license but the end user of your software - they may already have one

Personally I avoid 100% of this ambiguity & use PostgreSQL which has an unambiguous “free for any use” license

Permission to use, copy, modify, and distribute this software and its documentation for any purpose, without fee, and without a written agreement is hereby granted, provided that the above copyright notice and this paragraph and the following two paragraphs appear in all copies.

Thank you both that does clarify this issue quite a bit for me!

Unfortunately the dual license that MySQL & Maria have DOES confuse the heck out of things

PostgreSQL’s clear licensing makes it a dead easy choice on that basis alone

I also think it’s a better db engine anyways.
It used to be the case that it was MUCH more difficult to install than mySQL.