Moving to a VM for development

Greetings all,

I have been using Xojo for software development for fifteen years. In this time I have run Xojo / RealStudio / RealBasic from my Mac laptop.

Now I am moving to better things (?) and the people I am developing for have offered a virtual machine to develop on (which they will maintain / backup). This will also keep their IP and development in a nicer arena. No laptop walking out the door, etc.

They offer Windows 10 and Linux (e.g. CentOS) as VMs. I have done a little developing on Linux (Ubuntu 12 / 14) and Win 8.1 … Neither really floated my boat like Mac does, but from the point of view of a Xojo developer, which of these OS are more likely to receive Xojo love ? Which is more stable, mature ? Which is more likely to be usable as a VM deployed development environment ?

I am not looking for a flame here. Persons with experience in one or the other (or ideally, both) environments would be welcome to reply.
Regards,
Tony Barry

I doubt you will receive a good answer for that, because the thing about Xojo is that you develop on your preferred OS and then cross-compile to the other operating systems running in VMs. So most of the developers here will probably never have touched Xojo on the other two operatings systems often enough to really be able to say something about that.

Developing in VM? Really? Why would one do that?

Hi Eli,

This keeps the “computer” within the IT infrastructure, so the IP does not leave the building. Also if the developer (i.e. me) leaves town, some other developer can take over. The question I have is - how does Xojo compare between environments ? I have little experience with either Windows or Linux.

Regards,
Tony Barry

My impression is that you’ll get an experience closest to what you’re used to in Windows 10, but as Eli predicted, I never use Windows or Linux for development, just remote debugging.

+1 to Kem
Use the WIndows box.