Modbus TCP/IP

Hello All,

Probably this would be 5th or 6th post asking about implementing Modbus TCP/IP with Xojo.

Pardon my understanding of Xojo as I am new to it, but I haven’t been able to find a clear explanation of implementing Modbus TCP/IP with Xojo.

I want to communicate with Digital IO using a windows app.

Can someone please help me with a plugin which I can add to the xojo and use API to communicate with the devices.

I basically want to read & write to coils & registers.

Thanks,

Gaurav Joshi

Well I don’t know what Modbus TCP/IP is, or what Digital IO is, although a quick search tells me the former is a protolcol for supervision and control of automation equipment.

What IP address will the target devices have and how do you set it? What port do they listen on? What research have you done? What documents have you studied to understand the protocol and how it applies to the devices you have? I see also there’s a Wikipedia article on Modbus.

Hello Tim,
Thanks for your response.
I shall try & answer some of your questions based upon my current understanding.
Modbus TCP/IP is basically MODBUS over IP. The Digital IO is nothing but remote IO device which communicates using Ethernet port. The standard port for Modbus TCP/IP is 502. The communication needs to take place something similar to as explained in pyModbusTCP · PyPI.
I am not aware as to how the communication protocol works, since till date, I have used different softwares such as DaqFactory or Matlab which have inbuilt modbus TCP/IP libraries. However, I find there certain limitations within these softwares with regards to ease of use, because of which I want to use Xojo for this new project related to Factory Automation.
If someone can develop standard plugins for Modbus TCP/IP & Modbus RTU, I am even willing to buy them, since I believe this shall help increase the capability of Xojo and thus its reach in Industrial Automation.
Regards,
Gaurav