Migrating from RB database to SQLite database

Greetings folks -

This is my first attempt to use the Xojo SQLite database. Using IDE 2016 1.1. I try the following code, mostly copied directly from the LR (new layout seems really confusing, by the way, and really laborious to use if you don’t know exactly where you are going.)

[code] Dim sql As Text
sql = “SELECT * FROM Note”

Dim data As SQLiteRecordSet

Try
data = App.NoteDB.SQLSelect(sql)
Catch e As SQLiteException
MsgBox(“Error reading database”+ e.Reason)
Return
End Try

If data <> Nil Then
MsgBox ("There are “+Str(data.FieldCount)+ " notes!”
data.Close
Else
MsgBox(“No notes yet!”)
End If[/code]

I am getting multiple errors that seem pretty basic.

1. On the dim data line, error = can’t find a datatype with this name. This line was copied and pasted directly from the LR. Should it, perhaps, just be dim data as RecordSet?

2. On the Catch line, error = can’t find a datatype with this name. Again, this was copied and pasted directly from the LR. Why the catch/try rather than just looking at App.NoteDB.Error and App.NoteDB.ErrorMessage?

Is there some switch I need to set or something to include? Pretty sure, the version I have includes database support and there is no problem with the SQLselect statement near the top.

I am also confused about the datatype text. First time I have seen it in Xojo. Why that instead of string?

Many thanks

Jim Wagner
Oregon Research Electronics

TEXT is a “new framework” replacement for STRING (yeah it makes no sense to me either, but for this STRING will work too)

There is no such thing as SQLiteRecordSet is just RecordSet (per the LR)

instead of TRY/CATCH… just query App.NoteDB.Error

and once again… The Language Reference (LR) is your friend

And I’m not going to comment on the validity of the source you got that from… just that it led you astray unfortunatly

Dim sql As String
  sql = "SELECT * FROM Note"

Dim data As RecordSet
 if app.notedb.error then