Maps app

Hello everybody ,
I want to program an application with a map with geolocation. I want her to work on mobile devices. Is it better to make a web application or native apps iOs? The application will connect to mysql. How often can the position update if it is often the application reboots? Do you have anyone experience you can advise?
Thanks

Hi Frantisek,

It actually depends on your target audience. If you only have iOS users it will be better to make an IOS app.
If you want your app to run on Android, iOS and any browser then a web app is better.

I have some experience with the Google maps and places APIs. They used to be very cheap but are now very expensive as soon as the free tier is exceeded.

Mapbox or Here maps might be a better choice over Google Maps.

Hi Jeremie,
thanks for the response, google maps are really expensive target audience should not be dependent on the platform so it will be a better web application. Do you have any pattern on how to use the mapbox please?

Thank you Franz

what is the use case of this map in your app?

I need to find out the user’s position and distance from a defined point

on the world,country,city or indoor?

the user define a point on the map then?

with web app it was possible to get gps and the session need https.
and bigger images in xojo web 1.0 …

• u need to be online that could cause extra costs for the user.

there are a few open source map server for self hosting.

as example for geo caching i would use a static image.

If you use a Mac app, you can use our CoreLocation classes (CLGeocoderMBS and CLLocationMBS) to find position and maybe use our Map classes (MKMapViewMBS and MapKitViewControlMBS) to show the map.