Mailto example not working (or better say I am unable to have them work)

Hello everybody.
I need to send a very simple email with an attachment.
I need to have it sent from a webapp residing on Xojo Cloud.
I use xojo 2022. (web 2.0)
I tried the examples in xojo (although I don’t need SMTP) and it doesn’t work.
The fields that I can gather from the page are:
Sender email address
Recipient email address
Copy to email address
Bcc email address
Subject
Is there a simple way to accomplish this?
Please consider that I am relatively new to xojo.
Had it been PHP, I’d have already solved it with a simple mailto:

Is there a simple way to do this?
To be frank, I have tried already the various examples that I read on this Forum but either I am dumber than the average (very much possible) or there must be something that I did not catch at all.

e.g. if I type ShowURL(mailto: etc) I get an unrecognised item…

Thanks in advance for any help or guidance you’ll be able to submit.
Best,
Carlo

What is the mail server you are going to use?

I do not know about webapps, but the mailtos below work for desktop apps.
BTW, you may first try mailto in a desktopapp and see if at least it works there.
And sometime you may have to use urlencode.
In the snippets, content may refer to different sources like listbox, parameters and the like.
Sorry I cannot find instances of attachments, although I’m sure I used them too.

ShowURL “mailto:somename@gmail.com?subject=mySubject&body=” + label3.text + EndOfLine + me.cell(idx, 0) + EndOfLine + mref
ShowURL “mailto:” + t + “?subject=” + subj + “&body=” + mbody
ShowURL “mailto:” + t + “?cc=” + result
ShowURL “mailto:” + t + “?bcc=” + result

You may need to replace EndOfLine with myMessage.ReplaceAll(EndOfLine, “%0A”) for Web and Windows, but macOS copes with EndOfLine OK.

1 Like