Mac & Ms SQL???

Hello,
I imagine this has been asked before but I can’t find it. Is it possible to somehow connect to MS SQL from a Mac application? I can’t figure out how, is there a specific plugin I should be using? or are there ODBC drivers for that? I must say I am very new to the mac.
Help…

Yup.

http://www.actualtech.com/product_sqlserver.php

You can use our MBS SQL Plugin with freetds library to connect to MS SQL Server from Mac or Linux.

Is there a compiled version of that library available (For OSX, I’m not finding it here : freetds ) and do you have example code on how to use it with MBS SQL Plugin?

I put a Mac library here:
http://www.macsw.de/plugin/Libs/

and where can i get the freedts library from?? Christian?

You can build your own copy or try the one i just uploaded. See above.

assume i need to put this on the plugin folder??? together with the MBS SQL Plugin? I assume i don’t need anything extra for Windows version.

[quote=29526:@Christian Schmitz]I put a Mac library here:
http://www.macsw.de/plugin/Libs/[/quote]
Okay, so we have now this file ‘libtdsodbc.dylib’ which seems to be a free ODBC driver for MS SQLServer.

I tried to install that driver using iODBC Administrator, but the heck: it turns out that one will spend hours or more to figure out how to configure it, how to make it run, etc. - Forget it and tell your clients to go with the Actual ODBC driver. They will be able to manage it - unlike the ‘free’ stuff.

Well, the dylib from me is stand alone. You tell our SQL plugin to load this dylib and connect. No configuration needed.

and how do i ask the MBS SQL Plugin to load this??

For what it’s worth, I used the Actual Tech ODBC driver for years without a hitch in my previous job. They do regular updates and are very responsive if you have a question.

Like this:

[code] dim Libfile as FolderItem = SpecialFolder.Desktop.Child(“libtdsodbc.dylib”)

con.SetFileOption("ODBC.LIBS", libfile)