Local Files

Hi All

New to all this so total noob. Can someone please give me the correct way to load local files. I have a web view working no problem that will load various external url’s fine. If i want a folder in my app that contain what is essentially a mini website with instructions/pics embedded as html what the best way to do it?

Thanks in advance

Put this code in a PushButton Action event for example

Dim f As FolderItem f = GetOpenFolderItem("text/html") If f <> Nil Then HTMLViewer1.LoadPage(f) End If

Should get you going…
See HTMLViewer.LoadPage in Language Reference.

Firstly…thanks for the reply. I found that but just cant get it to work. Heres what I have:

[code]
If popupmenu1.ListIndex = 0 Then
HtmlViewer1.LoadURL(“http://google.co.uk”)

ElseIf popupmenu1.ListIndex = 1 Then
HtmlViewer1.LoadURL(“http://last.fm”)
Else
//
End if[/code]

I have two urls on a dropdown menu. What id like to be able to do is replace one of the above urls with an index.html dropped into the project but i can’t get it to work The closest i got was your code but that just gives a load option.

[code] If popupmenu1.listindex=0 then
Dim f As Folderitem
F=GetFolderItem(“G:\LPA\rest.html”)
HTMLViewer1.Loadpage(f)
else…

[/code]

Should work (G:\LPA\rest.html is a local file on my G drive in the LPA folder)

Thanks again. Is there no way of bundling the files with the application so they are included in the build then ? Id like to have it all in the app itself ?

Well I can only talk about windows. The way which works for me is to locate the folder which contains your exe file - copy all required files, databases etc to same folder as the exe then

Select all the files in the folder including folder (libs)
right click
send to compressing (zip) folder

Ship the zip file…(user double clips the zip to unzip it or use winzip/megazipper et al)

or use an installer like innosetup