Local Database using json idea

Hi All,
I am a newbie to xojo, so please excuse what I write.

I would like to setup a simple database server.
My idea is.
Have my server connected to an Sqlite database.
Then have a client connect to the server via tcp or udp and they would send a sql query.
The sever would then create the json string and then broadcast this back to the client.
The client would then read the json string and update his local Sqlite database.

Has anyone any thoughts on this and any methods to get this done.
I am confident with Delphi but xojo is a new beast to me.
Any source code examples etc. would be very happily accepted.

Tom Duncan
Australia

That is essentially what cubeSQL does.

Is cubesqql available for people who have not purchased the full database version of xojo?
I have just the basic Mac only one.

Hey there Tom - welcome to the community. I don’t know if you need any special license to access CubeSQL - I don’t use it.

But if you want to proceed with your plan as a learning exercise I’d be happy to help. To start with you might want to look at this article. It’s a bit old at 10 years, but gives you a good start on creating a server using Xojo.

You do need a Xojo Database Server Access license in order to use CubeSQL with it.

Thanks for that.
I am pushing ahead with the JSON idea.
Will make the code available to all when I have finished.

Tom

here you go.

You’ll need to look at the App open event and adjust to suit your database file location. The server listens on port 1996.

Thanks so much for that Wayne.
Sorry to be a pain but have you the client side as well. (don’t ask for much do I. lol)

Tom

Have tried using the Client side from the demos. (and using the correct port)
It does show connected but the server does not seem to get the sql that I send to it.

I was testing it using telnet. Will do a client side tomorrow.

Thanks so much for your help.
Hope the election is going your way.
Tom