IsLoaded event

I want to start some things as soon as the main window (defaultWindows) has finished loading and all objects are drawn. I could start a timer and wait some ticks on average but there must be a better way in accomplice this?

Use the Activate event. You’ll need a guard variable so your code will only be called the first time the Activate event fires, which is immediately after the Open event.

In the Open event:

firstTime = True

In the Activate event:

If firstTime Then firstTime = False // do something directly after the Open event End // do something each time the Activate event fires

I have been using RB/Xojo for 13 years and since day 1 I have seem admonitions from the engineers to not rely on order of events. That’s why I think your current practice of using a short period timer to fire your procedures after the screen has finished loading is the best one.

The Window open event is guaranteed to fire after the open events of all the controls on the window… That is not good enough?

No, I noticed that the Open event fires before all objects are painted. I want to make sure that all objects are visible, then start my method. That is certainly not the case.

Desktop or web app ?

OK, let me rephrase my statement. I have this Win7 application, consisting of one Window and one Listbox and a few buttons.
In the Open event of the Listbox I read a database, rather large, into the listbox (7000 records, 1.6 GB). The reading of the records is done in a thread with normal parameters.

If I understand things correctly what would happen is that the windows loads, the listbox opens and the thread starts running. Meanwhile I expect the window to become visible… but that doesn’t happen. I don’t see a task bar item either. The window gets visible once the thread is finished… That doesn’t make sense because the database thread should allow the main thread to execute normal, that is in a time slice fashion.