Initial Chilkat Plugin Release SNAFU

The initial release of the Chilkat plugin had a minor SNAFU – all property setters were not working. This was due to an issue in the code generation (the internal Chilkat tool that generates the actual plugin source code, which is the wrapping around the existing Chilkat class implementations).

The new build at http://www.chilkatsoft.com/xojo.asp is available. The ARM sub-part is still in the process of building, and Chilkat update again later today.

Please note that this is technically a pre-release of the next Chilkat version (9.5.0.56) and should be considered Beta until 9.5.0.56 is officially released in early March.

Chilkat has some great plugins, surprised to see a Xojo version! Do you also offer Real Studio builds, or is it only for Xojo?

Thanks Ashot, I really appreciate it.

I don’t know the answer to your question because I’m fairly new to Xojo. If the Xojo plugin SDK (meaning the C++ code that is located under the “Extras/PluginsSDK” directory) is valid for the older Real Studio, then it should work with it.

PS> The new build containing the ARM fix has been uploaded…

I’ve been using Chilkat for a couple of years now with .Net. I think more than a few of us would like to say welcome and thank you for adding Xojo to your many supported languages.

The plugin is very welcome. Have been using the Objective C version before but the declares were annoying. The documentation is very good with nice examples. I was able to convert from Objective C to the Xojo version in a couple of hours.

One small nitpick: the installation confused me a bit. A single file would be easier to use - especially the first time.

Thanks Trixi, I answered your post on the Chilkat forum, and I also received an email about the same issue. (I’ll have to test with an empty “subEmail”…)

Nitpicks are welcome! :slight_smile: