Import text file into variable and then search using RegEx

I’m new to XOJO (and new to programming of any kind!)… I’m struggling with a bit of code that will check to see if a text-file exists and then if it does, read a MAC address from that file into a new variable (or display it in a TextArea).

I can check for the existence of the file and read it into a string… that bit seems to work ok for me.

I’m then trying to use RegEx to search though the entire file and find the first occurence of the string I’m after “(\w{2}-){5}(\w{2})”. When finished, I intend to run this code on multiple computers, so obviously the MAC address will be different every time… hence me using RegEx (to make things worse, the MAC address won’t always be located in the same position in the text file).

The following code will return the information I want, but I can only get to to search on a specific line of the original textfile instead of the whole file.
e.g “text = imported(3)” reads the fourth line

Can anyone help me to get this working please?
Cheers
Neil

Dim t As TextInputStream
Dim f As FolderItem
f= Volume(0).Child(“Folder1”).Child(“Folder2”).Child(“File.txt”)

If f.exists Then
t = TextInputStream.Open(f)
Dim imported() As String
While Not t.EOF
imported.Append t.ReadLine
Wend

dim text as string
text = imported(3)
dim matchLines() as string

dim rx as new RegEx
rx.SearchPattern = “NAME”

dim match as RegExMatch = rx.Search( text )
while match <> nil
matchLines.Append match.SubExpressionString( 0 )
match = rx.Search
wend

TextArea1.Text = join( matchLines, EndOfLine )
end if

can you post an example of the text you want to import, maybe you can use nthfield

Can’t really post an exaple of the text I’m importing onto a public board (sorry).

The data is in the form of license files for all the CAD workstations that I’m looking-after.

there is text before the MAC address, which is always the same?

for example if you have text like this

you could use