How to run apps on Mac

Hello, I am a University researcher in Psychology. I bought Xojo in order to be able to build some apps for running online psychological experiments. I built an app that runs well on Windows, but I need to distribute it also to students who have Mac (for running only once, in fact). Unfortunately, when they try to run the app, it turns out that this app can’t be opened because it is not authorized (“you don’t have permission to run…”). It should be only a warning, according to “Mac Code signing” Xojo page, but we could never succeed in opening the app. We tried all methods proposed in Apple site:

• checked that the user has read-write permissions on this file
  • right-clicked on the app and Open
  • CTRL clicked and Open
  • went to the Security &Privacy panel and tried to grant an exception for the blocked app by clicking the “Open anyway” button in the General panel, but this button is never available.
    What can we do?? Thanks in advance.
    Alberto Greco

My first thought was the “right-click on the app and Open”,
but now there must be a 2nd thought as well:
Which macOS architecture are you building for?
Please look at "Build settings / macOS for “architecture”

Can Windows build 64bit apps at all?

I seem to remember that something like this came up at least once here in the forum. But I don’t remember the solution.

What platform and OS version are you using to create the build?

Do you know what OS versions are being used by the students?

The macOS build has to be 64 bit to run under recent macOS versions, and as @Beatrix_Willius mentions, those may not be possible to build under Windows yet.

If you are making a 64 bit macOS build, consider code sign and notarize. My personal preference for that is to use App Wrapper so I don’t have to keep up with the moving target that is Apple’s ever changing hoops to jump through.

1 Like