How to override an Event in a subclassed DeskTopTextField control

As an OOP beginner I succeeded in overriding a DeskTopTextField (DTTF) control. Just by using methods with the same name and return type.

But now I want to override the TextChanged Event of an other DTTP and although I use the same kind of procedure, it ‘doesn’t work’.

What I did was just put one statement in the TextChanged Event, called TxtChanged (removed the first letter ‘e’), calling the TxtChanged-method. Then I created methods with the same name in the level above and in the main window. In the main window is the code that should be executed.
In the subclassed DTTF’s I’ve put: Self.txtChanged. Also Super.txtChanged doesn’t work

The error that I get is a StackOverflowExeption. But why?

In the override that works fine, I’ve put: Self.Text = Self.GetResult

Is the Event working differently because it starts at the lowest level? And what would be a way to solve this? It’s not a good practice (I think) to directly call the main window’s method from the TextChanged Event. Especially because an other window is also using this DTTF.

First of all, once you implement an event in a subclass, it is unavailable to any subclasses or instances. if you still want to expose the event again, what you need is called an Event Definition. You can get one that is identical to the one you implemented on the by right-clicking the event and selection Create Event Definition (it’s near the bottom).

As far as your “self” problem, you can use Self in the subclass, but when the control instance is on a window, you must use “Me” because “self” refers to the Window.

When you override a method the use of Self gets tricky based on the type of the object you’re dealing with.

Let’s say you have Class1 with a public or protected method called Test. You’ve subclassed it and made Class2 (with no method override).

In either class, calling Self.Test will call the one on Class1.