How to modify an object in an array (XojoNotesWeb example)

Hello,
I watched Paul Lefebvre’s webinar where he built the XojoNotesWeb app which is also distributed with Xojo.
After the video and after closely looking at the application itself I still don’t understand something (consider that I am new to Xojo and not so familiar with OOP):

All tasks are saved in an array at session level.
Existing tasks can be modified by double clicking on the task (displayed in list box). A web dialog opens, the task object’s properties are shown and can be changed.
Once done, one hits the “save” button … at this point the properties are copied back to the object’s property (which exists on web dialog level (it is called “CurrentNote”)), the web dialog is closed and the listbox is refreshed by fetching all objects from the notes array at session level
–> And this is the magic to me!
–> How did the changed note get from “CurrentNote” property into the Session array?

In my opinion there are two objects at a certain point. One is the original one, in the Sesseion Array and the second one is the modified one.
My approach would have been to search somehow the correct object in the array and replace it with the changed one.

Since the application works find, I know that my opinion is wrong :slight_smile:
But I don’t understand why.

I hope that 1) I could express my doubts and 2) someone can explain it in a simple way.

Thanks!
Thomas

mmh, went on with my research …
When saving an object to the RowTagAt of a list box, does it save a pointer to that object and not the object itself?
I mean, If I have several objects saved to a property (array) and I populate a list box by adding all objects from the array to the RowTag, in that case each RowTag cotains a pointer, is that correct?

An object created with NEW (for example) is “the instance” of the object… and references are to a pointer of the object

Dim obj1 as new myObject
Dim obj2 as myObject = obj1
Dim objArray(3) as myObject