How to force a global window to go frontmost? (in focus)

How to force a global window to go frontmost? It does not work after activating the app from the TrayItem. I’m mainly targeting Windows at the moment if suggestions are platform specific. Here are things I tried:

myWindow.show
myWindow.somecontrol.SetFocus
myWindow.hide and then myWindow.show
Setting a 1 second timer past the TrayItem click to execute the above.

Nothing sets the focus to that global window once it’s lost.

Hi Ben,

welcome to the Forum. Look for a window of type Floating Window in your documentation and in the forum. If that does not work as expected, a Declare may be used. A Declare is a way to call an OS API that is not readily available in Xojo.

Hi, I’m not asking what a global floating window is. I’ve been using RealBasic for over 20 years, so I know what it is. I’m asking how to procedurally force a global floating window to appear on top of all other global floating windows, including the Windows taskbar once that floating window has been deactivated. When I use myWindow.show the global floating window shows but it does not focus and a mouse click has to be made in the window to get it to focus.

To be honest if you really refer to Xojo as “RealBasic” in 2022 then you need to take some time and read over the newest documentation

Have a look a that these, maybe it could help you:

Can I make the Plan Box window stay above all other windows? - General - Xojo Programming Forum

App always on top - Targets / Windows - Xojo Programming Forum

I will be taking a look at both suggestions tomorrow and I’ll report back. Thanks.