How Do I Create Subclasses for All Base Classes?

Continuing the conversation from
https://forum.xojo.com/39688-oop-and-gui-design/0

From my experience with other OOL it is generally a best practice to NOT use base classes directly, but to create your own subclasses for all base classes.
Is that recommended for Xojo as well?

If so, what is the most efficient method to create all of these subclasses?

I am very new to Xojo, so I apologize if this has been asked/answered already. I did do a Google search and a Google site search of the Forum, and a search of the Xojo documentation, but did NOT find an answer to this. A lot of other OOD: Classes info, but not how to subclass all base classes.

TIA for your suggestions and guidance.

Create new class and assign support class.
Some clients do that for all the controls to adjust the visual appearance.

[quote=491580:@Jim Underwood]Is that recommended for Xojo as well?

[/quote]

In Xojo from what I have seen most people do not not unless they need to modify default control behavior/appearance reusably.

• Karen

Thanks, Christian. That is what I want to do, but I’m looking for an automated way to subclass all base classes, rather than having to manually create a new subclass for each one.

Any ideas?

There is none built in.

-karen

Thanks, Karen. Yes, that is the primary reason to subclass. For example, I may want to use a different font size and font face for all of the relevant controls.

you can read about IDE scripting to create a script for that.Or just do it manually.

Not unless you need to customize it
And there are things that will give you grief
I’d suggest only subclassing when you need to do it and not as a general rule

OK, that sounds like a plan. I’d be surprised if someone had not already done this, and I’d expect subclassing is a very common use case. I’ll do some research on IDE scripting.

Of course you can just set those in the set in the property inspector individually.