Help: ProgressBar not working as expected

Hello,

i’m new to Xojo and i am reading the “Introduction to Programming with Xojo” from this Xojo Site .
At chapter 14.3 of the book there is a code example for thread, timer and progressbar.
But it doesn’t work as expected. The progressbar fills within 2 seconds while the program needs
about 30 seconds to finish (on my Core i7 and Windows 7).
Can anyone tell me why the progressbar don’t fill up continously till the program ends - that’s
what it is expected to do.
I’ve uploaded the xojo file to a Padlet wall where you can download it for testing.
(Is it possible to attach files to a conversion because i didn’t find an option for uploading a file ?)

-Ralf

Not sure what you were “expecting”… but it seems to work just fine for me…

It set a Max of 10000000, and ran up to 9808423 in a nice smooth progression.

it didn’t go to 100% of max… but otherwise it looks fine.

Only change I’d see right off is in TIMER1.action… .change it and it should go to 100% as desired

ProgressBar1.Value = max(Self.Progress,ProgressBar1.Maximum)
    CounterField.Text = Str(Self.Progress)
    MaxField.Text = str(ProgressBar1.Maximum)
    CalcField.Text = str(self.Calc)

If Self.Progress >= ProgressBar1.Maximum Then 
    Me.Mode = Timer.ModeOff
    MsgBox "Done processing!"
 end if

ProgressBar.Maximum is 65536 see http://documentation.xojo.com/index.php/ProgressBar.Maximum. I always use 100 as the maximum and calculate percent complete for the value.

while that seems to be what the doc says… it accepts a much larger #

and making the change above works perfectly (except it is MIN in the first line… NOT MAX)

seems in reality the max is not 65535 (0xFFFF) like the docs say… but rather 2,147,483,647… (0x7FFFFFFF)

@All

Thank you fpr your replies, but it does not work on my computer. I changed the code to the one
you suggested and changed

max(Self.Progress,ProgressBar1.Maximum)

to

min(Self.Progress,ProgressBar1.Maximum)