Help: Errors with SMTPSecureSocket and gmail

Hello,

i’m new to Xojo and i am reading the “Introduction to Programming with Xojo” from this Xojo Site.
At chapter 11.5 of the book there is a code example for sending mails with SMTPSecureSocket. I have first tried sending a mail using the code
for “Google Mail” as in the book, then i changed the code to the following (after reading some posts in the forum):

MailSocket.Address = "smtp.gmail.com"
  MailSocket.Username = "myusername@googlemail.com"
  MailSocket.Password = "mypassword"
  MailSocket.Port = 587
  MailSocket.ConnectionType = SMTPSecureSocket.TLSv1
  MailSocket.Secure = true

Dim Start as New Date

While 1=1
    MailSocket.Connect
    Dim Now as New Date
    if Now.TotalSeconds - Start.TotalSeconds > 60 Then Exit
    if MailSocket.IsConnected Then Exit
  Wend

SendTheMessage

The method “SendTheMessage” is:

Dim m As EmailMessage
  m = New EmailMessage 
  m.AddRecipient(ToField.Text) 
  m.Subject = SubjectField.Text 
  m.BodyPlainText =MessageField.Text
  m.FromAddress = "myusername@googlemail.com"
  MailSocket.Messages.Append(m)
  MailSocket.SendMail

But i always get a lot of SMTP ERROR: Password command failed:

[quote]534-5.7.14 …
534-5.7.14 … Please log in via your web browser and
534-5.7.14 then try again.
534-5.7.14 Learn more at
534 5.7.14 https://support.google.com/mail/bin/answer.py?answer=78754[/quote]

At this google site you can read the following:

[quote]If you’re still having problems, visit http://www.google.com/accounts/DisplayUnlockCaptcha and
sign in with your Gmail username and password. If necessary, enter the letters in the distorted picture.

Your mail app might not support the latest security standards. Learn how to allow less secure apps access to your account.[/quote]
The first solution didn’t work at all and the second one gives me this link to a site where i can “activate access for less secure apps”. But i don’t want to lower the security for my gmail account.