have XOJO hit enter for you

I have a timer going, and every 1 second it opens a message box, but the box is waiting for me to hit enter. how can I do that, or how can I have the message box go away on its own after 1 second

I think you have to do your own dialog box with a window.

Use a window instead with the same design as the MsgBox, so either the user closes it with the button, or you close it in code.

I come from Applescript, I am NOT a coder per se. Here is how you do what I need in Applescript.

display dialog “hi” giving up after 1 second

so easy with Apple,
not that easy in XOJO

[quote=221426:@Shawn Brady]I come from Applescript, I am NOT a coder per se. Here is how you do what I need in Applescript.

display dialog “hi” giving up after 1 second

so easy with Apple,
not that easy in XOJO[/quote]

AppleScript is an automation scripting system. Xojo is a full fledged development environment.

You are accustomed to AppleScript. You discover a new, much more powerful environment. Think about learning a Foreign language. It needs a learning curve.

Avail yourself of the Introduction to programming book at https://xojo.com/learn/ and make the effort to read it. Same thing for the books in the Documentation folder next to the Xojo IDE executable.

• Drag a window in your project from the library. Make it the proper size.
  • Place a label over it and change the Text property to Hi
  • To show the dialog, use (admitting it is named Window2) :
Window2.show
  • To close it, use :
Window2.close

You can place that code in a timer Action event to retire it after one second, or in a button you place on the window.

Now, just to show you the remarkable Xojo flexibility,

• create a script in AppleScript :
display dialog "Hi"
  • Save as Hi.scpt
  • Drag Hi.scpt in the project (left pane)
  • In your code, enter :
Hi

See the AppleScript messageBox displayed.