Graphics pen width and height

Hi,
I’m assessing Xojo for a project using an iMac Retina to upgrade a simple standalone app currently on a PC. I am an experienced programmer in C and C# and find Xojo intuitive and very easy to learn. The speed of learning Xojo makes it ideal for one-off apps. In order to go with Xojo I needed to assess two things: working with SQLite and printingprecise vector graphics.

Migrating data to SQLite and attaching to a Xojo app was really straightforward but the graphics is not quite as required. I need to be able to print (on a high resolution inkjet printer) circles and lines at defined coordinates in black with a precise line thickness. While creating the circles and lines was straightforward, I found I couldn’t control graphics pen.width and pen.height as I wanted. If I set both to 0, I got a very thin line while, with both set to 1, I got a line about 4 or 5 times thicker - and I need a thickness somewhere in between. Can anyone give me advice on how to get more precise control of line thickness?

Thanks.

You are at the mercy of the printer’s dpi setting.
If it is 72dpi, then graphics are coarse.

You get much more precise control if you render into PDFs because the sizes are expressed in doubles and relate to the page size… its the job of the rendering engine to get it as good as it can.

When you get the graphics from the printer, request the best resolution you can at the time.
Check the resolution of the graphics object you get back.

If you want a line that is 1/36 of an inch thick, then you need to consider how many pixels make up 1/32 inch

at 72 dpi, a 1/36inch line needs a pen width of 2

at 144 dpi, you need a penwidth of 4
and so on.

A penwidth of 1 will give you the thinnest line possible at any resolution, but at 1200 dpi it will be allmost invisible on all but the best quality coated paper.