external items in more than one project?

I feel like a total noob that I can’t figure this out. I’ve been using the xojo and so many other versioning things for so long but in xojo I’ve never had the need to share a file between 2 projects. I’ve got a module with a large number of constants in it for data keys necessary for the communication between 2 apps. For years I’ve just cut and pasted any changes or additions into both apps. I’m facing a large number of additions now and I want the module to be the same in both projects. As if I was including the same header file into both of them so that changes in one will be reflected in the other.

The “make external” feature seems to be what I want? I can make the module external and save it from one program, but how do I import it as external in the other? If I drag it into the second project it’s imported just once and kept locally. If I go to make that one external then it wants to save it again.

Is that how to do it? Just save it over the other and then both programs will treat it as an external item?

This seems such a basic thing, yet I’ve never done it in Xojo!

Just saving it again over the existing external item is how I usually do it.

On Mac, just drag the module over the project holding OPTION+CMD, the cursor will turn to an alias style arrow and the module is added as external.

Be warned with external modules to not work at the same time on both project using it. Bad things can happen

Also with external modules you must save the project in XML or Binary only.

[quote=220498:@Massimo Valle]On Mac, just drag the module over the project holding OPTION+CMD, the cursor will turn to an alias style arrow and the module is added as external.

Be warned with external modules to not work at the same time on both project using it. Bad things can happen

Also with external modules you must save the project in XML or Binary only.[/quote]
The MODULE has to be XML or Binary - not the project