Expect SQLitePreparedStatement, straight out of examples

I’m having trouble with SQLite prepared statements. Actually, this is my first attempt at using SQLite but I took an example from the Language reference and put it to direct use.

[code] Dim ps As SQLitePreparedStatement = db.Prepare(“SELECT * FROM userInfo WHERE name=’?’ AND word=’?’”)

ps.BindType(0, SQLitePreparedStatement.SQLITE_TEXT)
ps.BindType(1, SQLitePreparedStatement.SQLITE_TEXT)

ps.Bind(0, name)
ps.Bind(1, word)[/code]

I am getting the error “Type mismatch error. Expect SQLitePreparedStatement, got SQLPreparedSQLStatement” for the Dim line.

Yes name and word are actual strings, and the db is available. I get no errors elsewhere when I skip this part.

Thanks in advance for any help.

What is db declared as?

I added it to the project via Menu->Insert->Database->New SQLite database.

The autofill picks up all database commands properly as I type. Does it need to be redeclared to be used?

When using the Insert > Database > … stuff, it creates the variable as a generic Database, which will work for all databases. That is the source of your error.

Try

Dim ps As PreparedSQLStatement = db.Prepare("SELECT * FROM userInfo WHERE name=? AND word=?")

Also note from my example I removed the quotes around your ?'s. They are not needed as the prepared SQL statement will add quotes and escape things as necessary itself.

Thanks for that! But I continue to the BindType problem. It doesn’t look like a good example is in the language reference for that. No officially printed error, but it looks like a NilObjectException.

ps.BindType(0, SQLitePreparedStatement.SQLITE_TEXT) ps.BindType(1, SQLitePreparedStatement.SQLITE_TEXT)

Ok, I was able to get it. I had to change the Dim to:

Dim ps As SQLitePreparedStatement = SQLitePreparedStatement(db.Prepare("SELECT * FROM userInfo WHERE name=? AND word=?"))