EXE file size?

Good day,
I am new to Xojo and am learning it using the ‘Trial’ version (no Build option).

Using the Simple Browser sample application located at:
Example Projects\Sample Applications\SimpleBrowser

Questions:

1. How big is its .exe file?
  2. How many files need to be distributed?

Regards,
BL

Hi Brian, I’m not the expert on this but I can say that the collection of dependency files changes based on what you’re building for (Linux, Windows, Web, etc.). The .EXE tends to be small (e.g. ~4MB) where the Libs (supporting files) vary depending on the number of libraries you need to support your application. In many of my apps the supporting files are on average 10x the size of the .EXE.

Going back to the question of “How many files need to be distributed?”, I’d answer “All of them”. All the Libs and supporting files output during the Build process.

Xojo apps are mostly self contained meaning that you can zip the build folder and put it on another computer, unzip it, and double click the executable and it will just run. Occasionally there are some C++ distribution files that might need to be installed on an end computer but that seems to be relatively rare.

As William said, the size of the exe is going to vary quite a bit with what your app does. Some things like using WebKit for the HTMLviewer can greatly impact overall package size as it’s including a bunch of libraries. If you use plugins, those will impact package size as well.

To answer the question, I just opened the sample you mentioned in 2021r3 on my Mac and built for Windows. The .exe is 2.1MB, the entire distribution is 253MB, and there are a total of 78 files (some are in subdirectories).

Ciao Brian,
la domanda non ha molto senso, xojo può compilare per macOS, Linux, Windows a 32 o 64 bit producendo eseguibili di dimensioni diverse.
Ad esempio, sul mio PC, compilando il file SimpleBrowser per macOS si ottiene un unico file .app.tar di 16399 KB