Edit a specific row in a text file

Hello Group. I am trying to manage a text file. I was able to read and write in append. The text file that interests me is organized in lines. If I wanted to change the second line, I have to loop for example: While Not strIN.EndOfFile with a counter to locate the line and change it? or is there some other method?

What is this text file for? Is it a configuration file? If so, I would have thought an SQLite database would be better suited.

Yes it is a file for some configurations … the database I already use. More than anything else it is to practice the language, I come from VB6 and I am not a programmer by profession, but I write code for fun. The problem is that I can’t understand a thing … when I read do I have to use TextInputStream, when I write TextOutputStream, and when should I edit?

Hello @Federico_Giannetti

Not sure if you have already seen this learning recourse but if not maybe it can help clear some learning curves for you

Xojo: Learn Xojo Programming

Much simpler:

var lines() as string
lines = myText.split(endofline) // If this is text outside of platform, see replacelineendings https://documentation.xojo.com/api/data_types/string.html#string-replacelineendings
var SecondLine as string = lines(1)
1 Like

Ok, I was thinking of such a solution, with an index to point me to the line, but I can’t get the example you wrote to work.

strIN = TextInputStream.Open(f)

Dim i as integer=0
Dim yourText as string

While Not strIN.EndOfFile
  i=i+1
  yourText = strIn.ReadLine
  messagebox yourText
  if i=2 then
    messagebox "I WANT CHANGE " +yourText + " with " + textfield2.Text

var lines as string
    lines = yourText.split(endofline) 
    messagebox ">>" + lines
    'var 2ndLine as string = lines(1)

end if
Wend
strIN.Close

in lines retunr error:  
Type mismatch error.  Expected String, but got String()

Sorry. Oversight.

var lines() as string