Dynamic controls

Hi All,
I’m a hobby programmer writing Mac apps for my own use/amusement.

I’m doing something at the moment and decided to try creating “dynamic controls” (I’m not sure if that is the correct term). That is a series of controls that differ in number depending on particular circumstances.

I’ve got it working but, as there are quite a lot (labels, text boxes, buttons etc), the code is VERY long. I thought it would be possible to group them into/onto 1 group and then just create that, but can’t seem to work that out. I’ve tried using a group box, but the individual controls don’t create. I then considered a Container Control but the docs say they can’t be used in an array. Finally, I had the idea of a tab control and add the appropriate number of panels as required. The panels create ok, but I can’t figure out how to place controls onto them.

So, my questions are:
Is there a control that will group other controls so they are created together each time?,
Is there a way to add the controls to a tab panel after it has been created?

Finally, a “minor” issue which I’m sure is simple and I’m just missing it, what is the command to end a program running? Eg., user answers “no” to a questions that needs a “yes” to continue, so the program ends.

I appreciate any help (as you’ve always done before),
Thanks,
Barry

You can embed a ContainerControl on a panel of a TabPanel (or PagePanel).

http://documentation.xojo.com/api/deprecated/containercontrol.html#containercontrol-embedwithinPanel

Call the Quit() method.

Andrew,
Thanks for that. I’ve followed the link and got the idea. So my next question then, is how do I reference those controls?

For example if I create a container control with a text box on it. The TabPanel is named Tab, the Container is named Container and the text box is Text (I know, very original! … just for example sake)

I use the following to create 3 panels and embed the container:

for i As Integer = 1 To 3
Tab.AddPanel