Dynamic Container Control

Hi All,

I am writing my own simple Calendar. I have a master container with title and navigation buttons. Dynamically creates “day containers” by simple calculation. The calendar displays correctly for the default current month/year. I can click on each “day container” to show the date of that container (mouse down event). When I navigate to previous/next month, the calendar displays correctly except that when I click on the day container, it shows the date 2 times (current one and the last date at the same position). The number of times if shows follows number of times I navigate through the calendar. Any ideas?

Simplified code:

[code]dim c(43) as CalendarDayContainerControl
dim left, top, width, height as integer

//some calculation for first day and last day of month and position

for i = 1 to 43
c(i) = new CalendarDayContainterControl
c(i).myDate.Year = CurrentYear
c(i).myDate.Month = CurrentMonth
c(i).myDate.Day = CurrentDay
c(i).EmbedWithin(self, left, top, width, height)
CurrentDay = CurrentDay + 1 //something like that
next

[/code]

Close the previous ones before you create the new ones.

for i = 1 to 43
     if c(i) <> Nil then c(i).Close
     c(i) = new CalendarDayContainerControl
next

Hi Tim,

That is what I was thinking and I did try but it doesn’t work.

Don’t do it that way… no need to create an object (container) for each day (or possible day)… just use a canvas
In the Paint routine, draw what you need to draw.
In the Mouse Events, determine what “day” you are on via the X/Y coordinates…
ONE control, less overhead, make it look anyway you need/want

Dave, do you mean to make the whole calendar as one single control? However, I need to make some functions to repeat many times by myself, e.g. I plan to put at least 2 functions in each day container, add and edit event.

For the same issue, what about if I plan to setup dynamic containers in a search result list? The same problem may still happen.