drop shadow within round rectangle - how to?

Hi!

I am currently creating a custom control and wondering how I could get a drop shadow from the top of the rectanlge to
the inner of the rectangle.

I can tell you folks, I’ve spent several hours but don’t get it work. I’ve used a drawroundrect several times + offsetting. The results
doesn’t look nice. I think you need to use a fillroundrect or playing around with mask. I am not a drawing expert and would appriciate
some code snippets or hint what do to

I have attached a sample which I tried but seems like dead end.
awkward example

What platform? It’s built in to OSX and can be accessed with a few small declares. I’m guessing there is equivalent declares for Windows but I’m not quite sure.

actually intended for cross plattform. I pretty sure it’s solvable only with masks.

Unfortunately, Windows is vastly inferior in terms of such things.

If your control does not require resizing, you could design the effect in Photoshop or other graphic program a picture. That could be vastly simpler.

Your example is not quite explicit about what you want to obtain, though. What I see is a gradient. Is that what you mean by “drop shadow” ? Typically, a drop shadow is observed under a Mac OS X window or sometimes Windows, looking like the window is separated from the background by about 1/4 inch, therefore projecting a blurred shadow. Such shadow inside a control does not make very much sense. Would you have another example than your small program ? Maybe a screen shot from a commercial app ?

[quote=179987:@Michel Bujardet]Unfortunately, Windows is vastly inferior in terms of such things.

If your control does not require resizing, you could design the effect in Photoshop or other graphic program a picture. That could be vastly simpler.