Create ODBC data source on Mac OSX

I am new to using ODBC, and I have an application which I need to connect to a Filemaker database on our server. I need to eventually distribute this application to several coworkers, and I would prefer not to have to set up the data sources manually on each machine (especially as the data needs may change as the application evolves). Is there a way to edit the data sources through a shell script?

I have checked the /Library/ODBC/odbc.ini file, and it looks like I could easily add the information I need (assuming this is the only file I would need to edit to set up the data sources), but is there any issue editing this file directly?

Editing /Library/ODBC/odbc.ini should work fine (that’s how I copy setups from one machine to another, and I have never had any issue). I’m pretty sure that all the GUI tools do is modify the config files.

A while ago I had some code for connecting to Filemaker client via OBC. As far as I remember the connection could be done in code. Do you want me to dig out the code?

Thanks, I just tested copying the contents of the ODBC folder to another machine, and it worked as expected, so that’s probably how I will go for now, until I decide if it’s worth the time to either have the application copy the necessary files into that folder during startup or parse the contents of the .ini file and write the necessary info into the file.

Thanks again.

You might be able to create the ODBC connection entirely in code and not have to mess with the ini file at all

Something like

SqlStr=“Provider=SQLOLEDB;Driver={SQL Server};Server=192.168.0.31;Database=csc;Trusted_Connection=yes;”

which works on Windows - you should be able to do something similar on OS X