Control(OpenGLSurface).Handle v. DesktopOpenGLSurface.ContextHandle

According to the documents OpenGLSurface was deprecated.

In this documents we can see that the old property “Handle” is now “ContextHandle” and it is an integer.
But when I use it in code “ContextHandle” is a Pointer, not an integer!

Up to now I had used Control(OpenGLSurface).Handle which was an Integer without problems.

I need to use the Handle in a Declare. Which value have I to use?

Thanks for your help.

You’ve put this thread in the private Testers channel for an old, now released version. You should post in General for more public visibility.

1 Like

You are right.
Can I change the channel or do I have to text it again?

Moved to General category.

1 Like

How do you want to make further use of the handle?

Thanks Anthony. How did you do it?

This is the code I have been using for many years and it worked perfectly well.

#If TargetWindows  Then
  #If Target32Bit Then
    LocalPrevWndProc = SetWindowLong(Control(OpenGl_Surface).Handle, GWL_WNDPROC, AddressOf WindowProc)
  #ElseIf Target64Bit
    LocalPrevWndProc = SetWindowLongPtr(Control(OpenGl_Surface).Handle, GWL_WNDPROC, AddressOf WindowProc)
  #endif
#endif

I am a forum moderator.

OpenGLSurface (deprecated) and DesktopGLSurface both have a ‘ContextHandle’ property of type integer. Means ContextHandle’s type should be an integer, not a pointer.
I did not check in the IDE, but if ContextHandle’s type now is a pointer, I would consider it being a bug, at least an inconsistency between IDE and documentation.
Handles and pointers are not the same (ref. Wikipedia)
In Xojo, the term ‘handle’ is used for both handles and pointers:
DesktopControl property ‘Handle’ of type ‘ptr’

Hello Prof Sastre,

Yes, you are correct that the ContextHandle should be a pointer, not an integer.

Here is a method from my Declares book to create a memoryblock from an integer memory address.