Continuous Serial Communication - Polling Devices

Hi all,

I’m afraid I have no code snippets to share because I am simply unsure of the concept, not how to program once I do know the concept. I am building a Xojo app that in part communicates with multiple Arduino boards doing some sensing for me, through an RS485 multidrop. These arduinos should not speak until spoken to in order to avoid line crossing, but I also want the arduinos to send information, if they have it, as soon as possible.

Therefore I’d like to continually poll each Arduino as to whether they have information to give me, and if they do, they will send their info back before I continue this polling process. I am not sure how to continually execute an action with Xojo, as it seems an action only occurs upon an event. Is there a way to continuously perform an action, in my case poll multiple arduinos via serial, in a nonstop loop, like a C++ program would do?

I am very new to Xojo/OOP in general, so I apologize for seeming like I’m simply asking for an answer without trying anything.

Call the Serial.Poll method, in a loop or otherwise, to poll the device. The DataAvailable event will be raised if anything was received.

Do arduino1.Poll() Loop

I do this very thing with android. I use a timer. Once this timer fires, I send call the appropriate subroutine that sends the packet to the unit, I then set another timer called timeout, and wait for the response. if it fails, I move on and report the error. if it doesnt fail, I parse the response, do my thing, and increment the “address”, reset and enable the timer, and return.

Timer fires again with the new address, and I repeat again.

So is this now working for you?

I would use a timer to poll, instead of a loop, to avoid freezing the UI.

No need to poll. You dont’t want line crossing?