console app and odbcDatabase class

I have a problem on a windows 2003 server.
Im a Pro user with Xojo 2013 3.3
I apologise I seem to have put this in the wrong thread and don’t know how to change it to the “PRO” thread.

The objective is creating a server backend for desktop smart clients.
To do this I will have a classic ASP page call a console app to gather the data and update the MSSQLSERVER.

I wish to run a console app from a classic ASP web page. This is fine.
I can create a console app test and it runs well.

I want this console app to contact our MSSQL Server.
I can create a desktop app to use the 32bit OBDC driver and access the MSSQLSERVER from the server desktop.

My problem is using the exact same code in a console app. It doesn’t work.
i get the following error message
“Error connecting to MS SQL Server: [Microsoft][ODBC SQL Server Driver]Dialog failed”

I cut the code all the way down to this…
Dim mDB as ODBCDatabase
mDB = new ODBCDatabase
and I still have the same problem. I don’t actually have to try and connect to a DB just create an instance of the OBDCDatabase class to cause it?

To further complicate the story, I have run this console app successfully on a windows 2008 server which actually hosts the MSSQLSERVER .

I have no idea what the differences are? On both Im logged in VIA RDP as administrator.
The plugin for ODBC is in the lib directory.
Im not sure where to turn next???

Sounds like the difference is between the libraries installed on Windows Server 2003 vs Server 2008
Snince the app works on 2008 but not 2003 without any other changes that would be where I’d suspect the issue lies

Thanks for your thoughts. But why does it work on the desktop app and not the console?

The 2003 driver is complaining that it can’t show a dialog. The 2008 driver apparently doesn’t need to show the dialog, so it doesn’t throw the error. Desktop apps can show dialogs. Console apps cannot. That’s the difference.

Thanks Tim