Connect to database in same directory as application

I’m relatively new to Xojo but have spent countless hours reviewing documentation and example programs. The goal is to have the application use the sqlite database file in the same directory as the application. It seems no matter what I do, the system will only use the database file as inserted into the project via the IDE. This works fine unless I want to move/copy the application to another directory and use the database file in that directory. On the flip side, if I don’t insert the database file into the project via IDE then the application fails at compile.

Here is the code I have in a method that is called in the very beginning of the Open event handler of the main form. However, this code executes ok but seems to be completey ignored by the system and the database connection stays with the database inserted into the project. FYI, this application runs in both Windows and Linux and the same errors occur in each environment. Also FYI, the name of the database inserted into the Project via IDE is dbTalents.

Var dbTalents As New SQLiteDatabase
Var f As New FolderItem
Var p As String //path
Var l As Integer //length of path
Var x As Integer = f.name.Length //extraneous characters in path

//full path of database file. NativePath include extraneous characters (f.Name) i.e. Debug-MyApplication
//that need to be removed from path.
l = Len(f.NativePath)
p = f.NativePath
p = Mid(p,0,l-x)
p = p + “dbTalents.sqlite”

dbTalents.DatabaseFile = New FolderItem(p)

If dbTalents.DatabaseFile.Exists Then
If dbTalents.Connect Then
Else
MessageBox("Error connecting to database. Please check that your database file is in the same directory as the program. Error code: " _
+ dbTalents.ErrorMessage)
End If
Else
MessageBox(“Database file does not exist. The file dbTalents.sqlite must be in the same folder as the application.”)
Return
End