Closest language to Xojo for learning Xojo

I am new to programming in general and therefore new to Xojo, but have just purchased a Pro license in an attempt to make me learn :slight_smile:

Aside from the documentation provided by Xojo, I would like to start a library of physical books with regards to scripting, which I can turn to as reference.

After searching the internet over the last few days I have discovered that there is little in regards to third party resources for learning Xojo.

I have only this morning, purchased the back issues of Xdev, and I have purchased a few ebooks from RBLibrary, which I am sure will come in handy, however what I am really after is a physical book or two.

I have read that Xojo is similar in parts (the scripting not the IDE) to Visual Basic 6. Would I gain anything from purchasing a VB6 book to learn the basics of the scripting from? Is there another language which has similar fundamentals to Xojo which I could learn from?

Any help will be appreciated.

Reading about other languages while trying to learn Xojo will be hard because the differences are subtle sometimes.

That said I think Java is the closest to Xojo in terms of OO.

But I’d still recommend that you stick with XDev and RBLibrary. Especially the books from Eugene Dakin are really good (http://great-white-software.com/rblibrary/index.php?main_page=index&manufacturers_id=34). Don’t forget the webinars on Youtoube.

Physical books are now difficult to find, however one can still find in used books “RealBasic for Dummies”. I enjoyed it years ago when I started with that language since become Xojo.

It is but one of several still available at
http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Dstripbooks&field-keywords=realbasic

RealBasic is the root language used by Xojo. Although the IDE is different, and there have been numerous improvement, the basics are the same, and the examples in the book maybe of use.