Check valid IP Address

I am making a program that needs to check for a valid IP address… Ie will do a ping on a device and check that it exists… if not it will error.

How would be the best way to do this

Hi Chris,

There are several ways to check if a public IP address is “alive” (I mean, announced in “Internet”), but doing a “ping” against it doesn’t always warranties that; for example, currently is very usual that some routers and other internet hardware (firewalls) simply doesn’t respond to these packets…

If this is just for checking against devices on a managed LAN that you are sure ping packets go through… then, consider using the Shell class for that.

Javier

Thanks.

Basically I am fairly new to this. What I have done is written an App that will go and pull some SNMP Information about a device,

I have a TextField where the IP Can be entered, but it does not exist the app just returns nothing, and basically I want it to say that the IP address does not exisit

This is what I have

[code]dim s as new NetSNMPMBS

s.Community = CommunityTextField.text
s.IP = IPADDRESSTextField.text

dim r as string = s.Query(“system.sysName.0”)

r = Mid(s.Query(“system.sysName.0”),8)

SystemNameTextField.Text = r

[/code]

I have tried to use this

Dim z As String
z = System.Network.LookupIPAddress("s.IP")
If z <> "" Then
  MsgBox(z)
Else
  MsgBox("An error occurred")
End If

But that gives me the public IP Address, and what i want is the local address.

Does this make sense ?

AFAIK, Well… it depends what you’re querying against. If you’re running your app to get the answer from a remote device, then probably you’ll find some kind of router/switch at the other end that, if it has SNMP enabled, returns the requested info… but probably not the information from the internal devices connected to it (rotuer/switch). It mainly depends how the SNMP has been configured, and if all the devices from the LAN/Sub-network are added as nodes to the SNMP service.