CenoJuke music player

I want to share a project I’ve been working on for a couple of months. Yes, it’s a music player and yes, there are already lots out there and why not use Spotify? Well, let’s explain…

I’m old fashioned in a way that I really like to “own” my music, like have it on my own computer as a file. It’s the closest thing to a physical record or cassette. Starting in the '90’s, I’ve built a music library of around 20.000 music files using different programs and switching to iTunes as soon as it came out. I loved that program! But the last decade iTunes (or Music as it’s called now) moved away from what I loved most. I mostly use the program to play music and love the volume adjustment, mixing feature (but flawed, like when you skip a record it doesn’t mix) and most of all the automatic play lists based on Last Played, year, genre, etc. You’ll never hear a song twice in a month if you set up everything correctly.

But I also hate a lot of things about iTunes: it’s boring interface, I miss a jukebox-like screensaver that shows info about the song played, if you skip a song manually the player should mix the next song, short-cuts for rating songs and while we’re at it I kept adding things I liked MY player to do. But… It’s still based on the iTunes/Music library (I started building on that to see if I could pull it off). The final step will be to let go of that and have a program that runs on it’s own power/library.

Here are some screenshots of the user interface and the screensaver:

6 Likes

Some features

Screensaver:

• full screen showing artwork and info from the song played
  • shows background pictures you can add yourself
  • can show specific backgrounds linked to artists you really like
  • shows current song as a jukebox label, color and shape depend on the year of the song

Player:

• main screen has playlist (songs to be played next) and library
  • separate search screen