Basic questions for getting started with Web

Hi all! I am about to embark on the development of my first web app. I’ve been doing desktop and iOS for several years and am quite comfortable with these, but web is new to me

I started working through the examples and am going to be reading through the web tutorial to get started

I have a couple really basic questions on web:

1. For the database, you cannot use a local SQLite db and must use MySQL or alternative, right? I am quite comfortable with MySQL as I have actually been using this in parts of my desktop apps. If my assumption is correct, my question is do you need to make a new connection to the db every time you make a call to it? I have been doing this in my desktop app. Seems redundant, but I recall MySQL seems to lose connection after some time, and therefore, I needed to reconnect to it each time I wanted to read or write to it. Is this still the case for web? Is it even necessary for desktop, or am I just adding in too much effort with a new connect each time?

2. I currently have my MySQL db hosted on SiteGround. I will probably be opting for Xojo Cloud when the time comes to deploy. Does a Xojo Cloud subscription also come with MySQL db access where I can eventually get rid of SiteGround and just pay for one host, or will I still need my own db host?

3. In the couple of examples I worked through, I did not see any module for global properties and methods. Do your global properties in web go into the Session? For example, my app is a study guide app. The user will choose a test. I take various variables from the user’s selection and use them on different screens, such as the test name, test time, etc. Would properties such as these go into the Sessions properties, and similarly for any methods I would like to call across webpages?

4. I found the Web Tutorial and see there is also a tutorial video to watch. Are there other resources for getting started?