Auto Sequence Table in SQLite

Is there a way to create a Sequence Table… one that contains a single value, the is incremented every time it is read…

I want to apply a sequential number to each record that I insert… but it will be across a dozen tables… so the value must be “global”

• Insert a record into table “A”… seq is 1
  • Insert a record into table “B” … seq is 2
  • Insert another into “A” … seq is 3
  • etc.

I am not an SQLite expert to say the least and there may be an easier way…

But I suspect it could be done with triggers on each table that needs to share the sequence and keep the sequence counter is some table…

The trigger could read, increment and save the new sequence value

• karen

That’s extremely odd way of doing things. Is there something you’re trying to accomplish?

Odd? Major Database engine (Oracle for example) have “CREATE SEQUENCE” for just this purpose

The idea is that each of those dozen tables has a specific purpose (they each describe a different type of data)…
and some of those tables hold data where each record relates to a different table

For example Table D… one record might relate to a record in Table A, while another relates to a record in table B
there for the “key” cannot be an AutoIncrement PK in A or B since that would overlap… so the PK values in A and B must be unique across both tables, so “Where A.key = D.key” never conflicts with “Where B.key = D.key”

An example… I used to work in Healthcare… and we had (for sake of discussion) one table that was HOSPITALS, another that was DOCTORS and yet another that was CLINICS… each of these had a unique record structure… but they all had some things in common… so those were in single tables regardless of provider type. That is a super simplified example (in reality it was much more involved). My project consists of hundreds of records… not millions

I would use a master table containing all the common records of the 12 tables, and the key in autoincrement PK