Array of dictionaries

Hello guys, I’m new to xojo, but have some basic programming knowledge mainly from web languages.

I am trying to do the following: I want to read from the database and populate an array with the information. In the DB, there are items with 5 properties, like ID, parentID, name, etc. I read that there is no way to do an “Array of Arrays”, as I did before. After spending some time on google I found the suggestion of an array of dictionaries, which I then tried to follow. I’m not really sure, but I think it worked so far.
The Next step is to show these items from the array in a listbox. I figured the “for each” function would be the way to go. So good so far, this is the point were I keep getting errors and dont really know what to do… certainly a beginners mistake, but I cant get around it using google and the documentation. Can you help me maybe?

static tagArray(-1) as dictionary //ID, parentID, name, desc, ordername, level

dim dr as new DatabaseRecord
  dim sql as String

sql = "select ID,parentID,name from table_tags"

dim rs as RecordSet = db.SQLSelect(sql)

while not rs.EOF

dim d as new dictionary
    d.Value("ID") = rs.Field("ID").IntegerValue
    d.Value("parentID") = rs.Field("parentID").IntegerValue
    d.Value("name") = rs.Field("name").StringValue
    //d.Value("desc") = ""
    d.Value("ordername") = ""
    d.Value("level") = 0

tagArray.Append(d)

rs.MoveNext
  wend

rs.close

//Array anzeigen
  For each element as dictionary in tagArray
    Window1.lstTable.addRow(element.Value("name"))
  next

The error I get with this exact code is something like
“there are more than one elements with this name and it is not clear to which one this refers: Window1.lstTable.addRow(element.Value(“name”))”
with the words “Window1.lstTable.addRow” highlighted. when just putting a string inside of the addRow brackets, it works fine though.

I’m looking forward to your answers, thank you very much!

It looks great to me. You’re very close. Try this: