Apps to create UI design elements - recommendations and discussion

What do you all use to use to create your custom UI elements (buttons, graphics, icons, etc.)?

I’ve been using PaintCode 2 for a couple of years, and I really like the graphics that it can produce, and how easy it is to create @1x, @2x and @3x versions for HiDPI support. Unfortunately the version that I purchased is completely broken in Big Sur, and they’ve moved to a $200/year subscription model, which for a small-time developer like me, seems kinda pricey.

It looks as if Apple has standardized (at least internally) on Sketch, since lots of their developer resources are downloadable as Sketch files. I’ve downloaded and am using the 30-day free trial, and it seems comparable to PaintCode, for much less $.

Of course, any of these tools require a steep learning curve, and having a fairly significant PaintCode graphics library already, I’m less excited to make the transition. So, back to my original question, what do you all use to build your graphics resources? Also, what about the Xojo IDE itself? I’ll admit to blatantly “borrowing” one or two of the resources out of there as placeholders for my own development efforts. What do you all use to create some of those slick graphics elements (e.g. the On/Off switch used in various places in the Inspector)?

I’m not the best graphics artist in the world (actually I’m probably not even the best graphics artist in my own house - now that my son is doing his college courses remotely), but I truly appreciate good looking and easy to use UI design, and would like to see more of it in our apps. Thoughts?

Cheers.

-bill k

Hi William!
When dealing with images, I use either Photoshop or GIMP, depending on what I’m doing at the time. That said, most of my UIs are completely built using the Canvas class, as you can see in my GraffitiSuite products. It takes some work but is well worth it.